

## **S4 Central America**

Central America is generally considered part of the continent of North America, but it is often referred to as its own region. It is bordered by North America and the Gulf of Mexico to the north and by South America to the south. It is surrounded by the Pacific Ocean to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the east.

There are seven countries that are considered part of Central America. See them – see them as well as their flags, capitals, and population below.

Flag	Country	Capital	Population (2018)
	Belize	Belmopan	384,000
	Costa Rica	San José	5,000,000
٨	El Salvador	San Salvador	6,400,000
	Guatemala	Guatemala City	17,200,000
* * *	Honduras	Tegucigalpa	9,500,000
	Nicaragua	Managua	6,500,000
*	Panama	Panama City	4,200,000



## **Central America Facts**

- There once was a country called Central America. Today it is five different countries Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica.
- The Panama Canal is a manmade construction that is over 50 miles long. It allows ships to pass from the Pacific Ocean to the Atlantic Ocean.
- Central America is home to the Mayan Civilisation one of the great civilisations of the historic world.
- Central America was home to many Native Americans before European settlers colonised the region. Most of the area was colonised by Spain and Spanish is still the most common language spoken there today.
- No matter where you are in Central America, the furthest you could ever be from the ocean is just 125 miles.
- There are lots of rain forests in Central America, which provide plenty of natural resources.
- There are also many volcanoes, which creates rich, fertile soil for farmland.
- Coffee, bananas, and beans grow in abundance and are very important for the economy of Central America.
- Most people living in Central America are Roman Catholic.