

S2 Thirteen Colonies

The United States was formed from thirteen British colonies in 1776. Many of these colonies had been around for over 100 years. The first colony was founded in Virginia in 1607. Here is a map of the thirteen colonies:



What is a colony?

A colony is a region of land that is under the control of another country. It is usually a country that is far away from the colony, like England is far away from America. It was typical for the settlers in a colony to come from the colonising country, but in this case, the thirteen colonies were settled by people from all over Europe.



Why were the colonies established?

Queen Elizabeth wanted to expand the British Empire in the Americas, following what the Spanish had already done for over 100 years. The British hoped to find wealth, create new jobs, and establish trade ports. The colonies were founded for different reasons. Some colonies were founded by religious leaders who wanted to practise their religions in peace. Others were founded based on economical reasons.

Colonial Regions

The colonies are often divided into three regions: New England Colonies, Middle Colonies, and Southern Colonies.

New England Colonies	Middle Colonies	Southern Colonies
Connecticut	Delaware	Georgia
Massachusetts Bay	New Jersey	 Maryland
New Hampshire	New York	North Carolina
Rhode Island	Pennsylvania	South Carolina
		Virginia